News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Cardiology Symptoms

Question: Chest Discomfort with Pain

nagukush - Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:07 pm

Dear Sir / Madam,

I've been smoking for the past 7 years and I smoke about an average of 10 Cigs per day. The main problem with me is that I also chew and "Swallow" the GUTKHA (Beetel Nuts with Tobacco). My GUTKHA consumption is more than my smoking.

Actually I'm a Guitarist and I have to spend a lot of time practicing and studying - thats why I smoke and chew a lot...

Recently (for the past 1 week or so) I feel a vague Chest Discomfort in the night, ie after I have my Dinner. Its a vague feeling of "Heaviness" and "Very Slight Pain" and I feel like I want to burp a lot and relieve myself of the discomfort.

From the past 2 days this sypmtom occurs even when I have very little or no food. I feel that this feeling is getting amplified because of my pshyscological thinking also - ie I'm constantly worried that I may be suffering from a Heart disease or something very serious.

The Discomfort is both in Lest side and the right side consistently - I cant determine where exactly it is. I'm really afraid to discus this with my Parents as they may become very depressed and worried and hence I'm not able to consult a Doctor too.

My only aim in life is to achieve something in music - to become a great Guitarist and I'm really worried (physically and more phsycologically) that my dreams might be shattered if I have something serious...

Also please note that I sleep very less everyday - I practice for 4 - 5 hours the whole night and I goto bed by 5 - 6 Am in the morning and sleep till 10.30 Am (5 hours approx).