News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Hypertension

Question: high systolic but low diastolic

mr_deeds - Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:43 pm

Hi everyone,
My name is Tim and I'm a 25 year old veteran. I do not smoke and rarely drink. No family history of heart problems however ironically all the guys have been heavy drinkers and smokers for years without any health problems. For the past 3 years I have been suffering from severe episodes of heart palpitations that are completely random as well as hypertension that is just as random. I was put on Diltiazem and could have sworn my doc was trying to kill me. It made my condition 3xs worse. Since then I haven't been taking meds. I have mild anxiety symptoms and don't sleep very much. Always been a high strung kinda guy but also exercise religiously. Just recently I have been getting a steady ache just left of my sternum just where you feel your heart beat. I have been a well conditioned runner for the past 5 years but recently injured my ankle so exercise has been slim to none lately for the past 2 months. I have been to doctors more times than i can count and have received ekg's and the other one where they use sonar. I have been told everything has been perfectly fine. However, I have always had a very strong heart beat that jolts various parts of my body. I just recently had my blood pressure taken that resulted in 151/ 70? How is it that my systolic is high but my diastolic low? What could this be a sign of? I really feel cheated due to living as a health enthusiast. Any professional educated guesses would be appreciated.
Thank you.
 Dr. Tamer Fouad - Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:59 pm

User avatar Hello,