News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Miscellaneous Cardiology Topics

Question: Palpitations on fainting

elephantgirl - Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:47 pm

I am a 35year old female i have been fainting for the pst 15 years most times I faint I have heart palpatations when i faint I am on out for a few seconds i have had a eeg ecg mri scan ct scan been on telemtry and the only thing the doctors say is my heart is a little tacicardic but slows sometimes and that I am only a fainter i also have diabetes and pyoderma gandenesum and sleep apnea i was wondering if anyone can suggest some thing else am at my wits end the docotrs have said to just live with it
please help me
 Dr. Chan Lowe - Mon Sep 03, 2007 6:50 pm

User avatar Hi Elephantgirl,

You may want to have a tilt-table test done. This tests for a condition known as neurocardiogenic syncope. This is a complex condition that involves the heart and the nerves. Normally, when a person stands up or is standing for a little while the blood "settles" a little to the legs. Subsequently the heart speeds up a bit to compensate. In this condition, nerve fibers in the heart sense the increase in heart rate and "think the heart is beating too fast" so they signal to slow the heart rate down. This slowing causes a reduced blood flow to the brain and the person passes out (has a syncope episode). The body then compensates and blood flow is restored appropriately. This sounds bad but is not actually dangerous. The danger comes by falling and hurting oneself when passing out.

A tilt table test looks for this condition. If it is found it is quite easily treated.

Treatment for syncope in general is to stay very well hydrated.