News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Cardiology Diagnostics

Question: Multiple arrythmias

fyrmnk - Mon Sep 27, 2004 12:02 pm

Hi, I am a 30 yom. I am a firefighter in good shape, running and working out regularly. My heart itself is in great shape physically (pass stress test yearly with good scores), but my electrical system is pretty mixed up and seems to be stumping my docs and me.

Since I was 19, I've had PVCs and PACs (on stress tests too), no big deal. Then a number of years ago, I had an episode of A-fib (not known then what it was). Event recorder for a month, no repeat so not diagnosed. I ignored it for several years to prevent risk of it affecting my job.

Finally the last couple years, A-fib began lasting up to 8 hours at a time. After an hour, dyspnea and fatigue would start. These episodes were sporadic, lasting between 1-8 hours a few times a year, then every couple months, mostly at night while trying to sleep. Still didn't want to go to the doc for fear of my job.

Then last year, I had a near black out while driving. I can usually always feel every beat every day. It was beating normal, then I suddenly felt it stop, began to black out, got to the side of the road, hard thump, then very tachycardic. Dizzy about a 1/2 hour after. This got me back to the doctor. Captured A-fib on event recorder couple weeks later, but no more pauses (felt same as when I noted a-fib above, which is why I figure above noted items [exc. blackout] was a-fib).