News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Cardiology Diagnostics

Question: T-wave inverson

austintxtx - Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:36 pm

I am a surgical nurse and I need to find answers to my electrocardiogram showing a T-wave inversion. I am now 34 yrs old, HTN runs in my family at an early age, I am 50lbs overweight, and I have stress(just finished a divorce, little sleep, stressful work environment). I was diagnosed with high blood pressure 01/06(ER visit w/ BP 180/110) and had an EKG showing T-wave inversion. I was not told about this EKG finding. I went to a PCP who did an EKG and it was normal sinus rhythm - no T-wave inverson (in 03/06). I was put on propanolol 80mg/day.

My next EKG was 12/06 at the hospital, when I passed out at work from very high blood pressure (170/110). An EKG was done, and showed a T-wave inversion, the same as my previous hospital EKG, so nothing was said. My PCP then prescribed me to divide my meds to take twice a day, and so far, it appears to have solve my HTN issues.

Two weeks ago, while driving home from Houston, under no physical stress, I developed certain, noticible chest pain. The pain was midline, under the sternum, and was about a 7 out of 10 on the pain scale. I have never had pain like this and was constant for the next 24hours . It slowly disappated over the next 4 days. It did not change or move and it was very uncomfortable, hard to decribe, except that it hurt pretty bad. I went to my doctor the next afternoon and the EKG showed a T-wave inversion, a different result from the previous EKG in the office showing NSR in 03/06.