News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Cardiology Symptoms

Question: 22 year old with dull chest pain and odd symptom

bread123 - Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:00 pm

Hi,

I am a 22 year old student who has a history of chest pain for around 10months now. No history in our family, and I am 5"7 and 9 stone. Do not smoke, but do drink. The pain is dull in nature, slightly towards the left side of my chest and often radiates to the back and down my left arm.

The only thing that I know for sure brings it on is alcohol. But this only occurs the day after I have been drinking and not immediately after a few beers. I feel a 'dragging' sensation throughout the day, with occasional deep, dull aches. Exercise can bring it on, but not always. When I am lying down the pain seems worse. Noticed that along with chest pain, accompanies a scatter of petechiae. Around 10-20 on arms and abdomen. These always increase in number day after alcohol consumption.

I saw a cardiologist 3months ago, who did ECG, stress, echo and bloods. All normal, about from mild tachycardia during echo, probably due to excitement/nervousness. Doctor prescribed proton pump inhibitor and sent me on way. Said petechiae likely to be incidental finding as bloods were clear.

Have tried mixtures of different antacids and proton pump inhibitors with no avail. Spicy/big meals do not bring the pain on.

Cutting out all alcohol has improved the pain to a degree, but is still brought on at random intervals. Petechiae have however stayed.