News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Valvular Heart Diseases

Question: young female w/ MVP and almost constant chest pain

miss311 - Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:14 am

Hi
I'm a 23 year old female and I have Mitral valve prolapse and a heart murmur. I've known about it since I was about 10. I've had frequent and unignorable chest pain since I was 17. About 5 years ago I was put on anxiety meds for my social phobia and test anxiety (I'm a college student) and I also began experiencing acid reflux and was told to take an otc med. So for 5 years I've still experienced chest pain. I've visited 3 different cardiologists, all acknowleding that I have MVP and a heart murmur but saying I'm too young for chest pain and dismissing me with a perscription of Toradol...which will cure the pain for the moment and then it comes back. I'm not overweight for my height, I don't eat badly, and I go for walks almost everday, yet I still have pain. The pain is on the left side of my chest and sometimes feels as though it's shooting straight through to my back. Sometime it will go from the far left to about midchest. Many times it's accompanied by shortness of breath. I just want to know that I'm not crazy like the doctors around here are making me feel. I really would like to find out what is wrong with me, but I can't find one to listen. Any advice you can give to me would be helpful. Also, is there something I can do to make doctors take me seriously? I've tried dressing nicely for appointments, taking my mom, nothing seems to get me anywhere. I'm sorry this is long..I tried to give good information. Thanks again
 John Kenyon, CNA - Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:07 pm

User avatar Hello -