News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Arrhythmias

Question: What can cause bradycardia, tachycardia, and PVC's?

nurse26 - Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:59 pm

I have recently started having heart "flutters" and chest pain. I also have had anxiety attacks in the past, so I figured that it was probably stress-related. My echo was completely normal, but a holter monitor revealed PVC's, along with bradycardia at 40 bpm, and tachycardia at 119 bpm. I am a new nurse, so I know just enough that I'm scaring myself, but not enough to know what's really going on. I have woken up twice at night with my chest burning and my arms and legs tingling. I thought I was having an anxiety attack, but my pulse never increased. It actually got weaker and then normalized. I know that PVC's are normal, and I expected the tachycardia because of my stress level. But the bradycardia is throwing me off. All of my blood tests came back normal and my thyroid is normal. I do have an appointment with a cardiologist, but it takes some time to get in to see dr's as I'm sure you know, so all I'm doing now is worrying. Do you have any idea what is going on?
 John Kenyon, CNA - Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:07 pm

User avatar Hi there --