News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Ischemic Heart Disease

Question: Too Young For Chest Pain

Tjackson - Wed Feb 16, 2005 10:03 pm

My boyfriend is from Africa and has been in the US for 5 years. He is 32 years old. He has had a history of chest pain since the age of 10. Being from an area that's very behind with technologic advances, his condition has never been treated properly. He does not take his condition seriously. He refuses to see a doctor. It is frustrating me because I am a nurse and know he is ill. How common is it for someone so young to have severe chest pain and it not be lethal. He is dyspeic at time, his hands/upper extremities are always clammy and diaphoretic, and experiences right arm numbness about once a month. The extreme chest pain happens several times a year. I know this case obviously seems like ischemic heart disease, but are there other rare conditions out there that may be the cause? This is hurting me terribly because I care about him a lot and I don't want to lose him.
 hollyndays - Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:22 pm

Hi.

Your friend's symptoms may or may not be of cardiac origin . . . but that should certainly be ruled out. The symptoms you mention could easily be panic disorder also, OR many other conditions (hypoglycemia, for another). There's no way to tell without a workup. As a former ER nurse I can tell you I saw many, many patients with apparent cardiac symptoms that turned out to be panic attacks (either stress, hormone, or psychologically induced), or something else.