News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Cardiology Symptoms

Question: Unexplained heart problems...

ECC - Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:18 pm

Hello,

I'm 33 years old and I'm a Persian Gulf Vet with Persian Gulf Syndrome and I started having some heart problems last January (2004). My problems started, literally overnight. Up until Jan of 04 I had low blood pressure and a low heart rate. I have noticed some fibrillation (fluttering and eratic heart beat, skipped beats, double beats, sometimes my heart will stop beating for a few seconds, etc.) over the last couple of years though. In January of last year my heart rate went through the roof. I have since been diagnosed with Tacycardia (heart rate well over 100 at a rest). My blood pressure also shot way up. There was also a significant increase in my fibrillation. This was also the same time I had my first anxiety attack. I also started having quite a bit of chest pain at this time. Last but not least, I started hearing my pulse in my left ear also at this time. I have been through EKG's, ECG's, several heart enzyme tests, a Thallium stress test (for the stress test my BP and HR went through the roof...they kept asking me if I was OK and I told them I felt fine. I was on the treadmill for 8-10 minutes going full speed and they finally slowed it down and let me off), a couple of Holter monitor tests, and an Upper GI X-ray after drinking ?ballium?, multiple chest X-rays...and I really cannot think of whatelse. I've been to the emergency room several times, thinking that I was having a heart attack. It's gotten to the point now, that I do not go anymore, b/c every time that I've been, there's supposedly been nothing wrong.