News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Cardiology Symptoms

Question: EKG: P Wave Alternans with mild discomfort

rockstar98 - Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:52 pm

Hello, I am a 29 year old paramedic. I am a smoker of 12 years, about half a pack per day. No medical history, however there is significant heart history in the family. Today at work I have been feeling under the weather and decided to evaluate my EKG. I immediately noticed an abnormality, which after careful research I have learned to be known as "P Wave Alternans". There is no other obvious findings to me on my EKG. I also have mild chest discomfort particular to the Left side "pressure/burning" near the mid-axillary line under the clavical, I have had this persistant discomfort all day along with mild back pain and shoulder pain. I initially passed off the discomfort as inflamation due to a previous shoulder/back injury. I have however been feeling easily fatigued for a couple of years, feeling like sleeping a lot more. I have done previous EKGs and have never seen the " P Wave Alternans". 12 lead EKG was also taken, unfortunately it was not during a phase of the "P Wave Alternans" but it did read Left Axis Deviation and Pulmonary Disease Pattern, which previous 12 lead EKG's have shown years ago. I occasionally get light headed if I stand from a supine position to rapidly, or overwork myself. I am obviously going to see a cardiologist very soon. Just wondering if there are any other thoughts on these symptoms, "cardiomyopathy?, paricarditis?, paricardial effusion?, tamponade?" Kind of worried about it, as my research has shown that this reading on an EKG is extremely rare. The local ER doctor said he had h