News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Cardiology Symptoms

Question: Spontaneous Heart racing (over 120 bpm)

casalena - Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:57 am

This has been happening for the past 7 months or so, it all started with UNBEARABLE anxiety then eventually led to these heart races.

I've had an echo done, a stress echo, ultra sound, and also wore a heart monitor for a week. The results indicated nothing was wrong, my doctor from miami said there's a good chance it could be psychosematic, and insisted I keep jogging.

Here's a brief background of me.

-I'm an orchestral composer, so I would smoke very small amounts of marijuana before making a piece, despite me only taking 1/10th of what would be considered a cigarette drag, the heart palpatations and anxiety were unbarable, so I've not smoked for 4 months.

-I'm 22 years old, I'm stressed every day about my future, goals, the long run in general, and I come from a family who can be quite paranoid.

-My dad also has these heart conditions, and the doctor has told him he is fine as well and that he is just stressed out.

-There have been three heart related deaths in my family, and one successful heart surgery.

-When I was young, and immature, I did quite a bit of ecstasy (3 pills a week for 3-4 months). Was never an addiction or problematic, just a careless time in my life. Anyways I easily stopped for good.

-I also took steroids once when I was 19, for 6 weeks. Nothing to heavy, the bare minimum, i believe it was called Deca.

-I've been a smoker for 6 years now, used to smoke a pack a day, I'm down to under a 5 a day, still trying to quit.