News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Cardiology Diagnostics

Question: T Inversion in my ECG

Ashish - Tue Jun 07, 2005 10:20 pm

I am a fit 35 year old male who runs and exercises 4-5 times a week and doesnt smoke or drink. I am a pilot and in my ECG yesterday T inversion was detected and I am to undergo TMT today. What could be the underlying causes and what precautions should I take at my age..... all other information would be welcome......Thank you for taking your time....
 Shannon Morgan, CMA - Thu Jun 09, 2005 5:26 pm

User avatar Is it a change from your last ECG?

It's definitely imperative you get a stress test, by the way, how did it turn out?

Inverted T-waves can often be a normal variant in adults without cardiac symptoms, depending on the location of the inversion and if there are other abnormalities present.
 drcjb - Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:21 am

I just had a nuclear stress test, and while on the treadmill (I'm 46 and my target rate was 148) the cardiologist observed that I had a "T wave inversion that was pulling my ST wave down. Usually you see it the other way around."
At that point he shrugged and left and the test continued. I'll get the nuclear results in a few days, but even though the doctor seemed casual, I tend to worry. Any idea what his comment means? Just want to know whether to keep worrying or not.
 drcjb - Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:36 am