News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Chest Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Chest Answers List

Forum Name: Asthma

Question: Paramedic heal thyself! (possible asthma?)

bamamedic - Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:51 pm

Hi, I'm a 23 year old female, and I'm concerned about the possibility of asthma. I used to work for an MD and she thought I had asthma or reactive airway disease, but I never had any follow up testing done. Basically, I get SOB upon mild exertion, with a cough, and occasionally some mild wheezing (usually only audible by stethoscope). It usually goes away on it's own, but occasionally requires an albuterol tx. It's exacerbated by perfume and smoke. I also get colds frequently, and they tend to last for a month or so. I'm a paramedic, and I'm pretty reluctant to be seen by a doctor unless it's absolutely medically necessary. My only current medical conditons are chronic excema and ectodermal dysplasia (I'm fortunate enough to be able to sweat!), and the only meds I take are birth control pills. My family hx is positive for asthma, ectodermal dysplasia, MI, cancer, and HTN. My SOB isn't enough to really interfere with my life too much, but when I get out on a call and it requires lifting the patient down some stairs, I will have some respiratory issues, and that's really annoying :(
Anyways, any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks so much for your time!
 Dr. Safaa Mahmoud - Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:54 pm

User avatar Hello,

It sounds like an asthma is the cause of your symptoms.

Asthma is due to an inflammatory process in the respiratory airway a disease r which esults in spasm of the muscles of the bronchial way and narrowing of the respiratory tract and decreased airflow.