News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Chest Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Chest Answers List

Forum Name: Miscellaneous Chest Diseases

Question: COPD

cawilson - Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:26 pm

I am a nurse and have a patient with severe COPD. What is the highest level I can turn the O2 concentrator up to? His SPO2 was in the low 80's. He was on 2L and I gradually turned it up to 4L. When his O2 was not coming up, I put it up to 5L, but only briefly, I'm talking about 5 minutes. He had even dropped into the 70ls a few times. I know that there is a mechanism in the brain that shuts off when you get too much oxygen. I also worked in a hospital where I was told that a patient with COPD could have it up to 5L. However, in school, we learned not to go over 4. What is the correct answer. And, does it do any damage to put it up to 5? Yes, I sent him to the hospital. I work in a nursing home.

Thanks
Cherie
 Marceline F, RN - Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:45 am

User avatar Cherie,