News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Chest Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Chest Answers List

Forum Name: Miscellaneous Chest Diseases

Question: Exposed to active TB while on the job

envisionist - Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:02 pm

First, thank you for taking the time to read and respond. It really is appreciated.

I'm a 27 y/o male with type 2 diabetes, NASH liver disease, diabetic neuropathy, and acid reflux. No past surgeries.

Family history of diabetes, heart disease, and various auto-immune disorders.

Currently taking metformin, nexium, and gabapentin.

I'll try and make this as short as possible but it is a scary situation for me.

I work as a deputy sheriff with the warrant division. We (my partner and I) got a call to back up a supervisor having problems with a suspect he was trying to arrest. We got to the house, went inside, stood right next to the suspect for about thirty minutes in a small living area with the guy smoking some cigarettes and coughing while the main deputy finished verifying paperwork. Our supervisor (main deputy at the scene that we were backing up) pointed to his chest once but we didn't know what he was trying to tell us.

The warrant was for a "writ of attachment" which is usually for possessing property from law suits etc. but in this case the county was ordering the man himself to be attached/taken into custody. The main deputy never told us specifics at the scene.