News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Chest Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Chest Answers List

Forum Name: Chest symptoms

Question: Intermittent chest pain in upper left chest

mhgilbertlpn - Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:37 pm

I am a 23 year old female. I do smoke about 1/2 pack a day. Last summer I had I had a tragedy in my life. For about 9 months now I have had intermittent chest pain in the upper left area of my chest. It only lasts for a few seconds. And sometimes after it hurts then I have some gas. I am a nurse but like all people we are scared to know what is really wrong with us. And sometimes I have realized that the chest pain happens when I am really stressed. I have went weeks and days without any chest pains. So what should I do? What could it be?
 John Kenyon, CNA - Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:01 pm

User avatar Hello -

Your concern is certainly not unreasonable, and by writing here you're taking a big step toward getting past the avoidance part which is so common (especially in the healthcare profession, oddly enough).

Your linking the pain with stress is telling, one way or another. Either the underlying physical cause is aggravated by stress or, given recent events in your life, it may be that you're experiencing somatic transference symptoms -- just as real, if not necessarily life-threatening, and often more diffcult to deal with.

While I would never jump to the latter (somatic transference) conclusion, it is something that should be considered as part of the differential diagnosis. It is extremely common.