News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Chest Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Chest Answers List

Forum Name: Chest symptoms

Question: Pleural Effusion: Why's it usually on the right side?

atomajames - Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:51 am

Hi there,
I'm a medical student, and currently confused on one of my companion's question: why pleural effusion usually occurs on the right side of the lung? In bilateral pleural effusion, it's mostly the right side that has a larger amount of fluid.

Well, I then tried to google some answers, but found a bit, to nothing, of information. In one site, it says that in CHF patients, pleural effusion tends to occur on the right side because of patient's habit to lie down on his/her right side to find some comfort. Well, that makes sense. But..... why in most cases of pleural effusion, it always occur first in the right side? For example, in Dengue Haemorrhagic Fever, the pleural effusion occurs around 85% in the right side (according to one site I found). If it occurs bilaterally, the amount of fluid is usually greater than the left side.

What's the possible cause of this phenomenon? Is it the anatomy? Vascular aspect? I hope I can find some answers here. Thank you.
 John Kenyon, CNA - Tue Mar 24, 2009 10:38 pm

User avatar Hello --