News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Chest Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Chest Answers List

Forum Name: Chest symptoms

Question: Whistling and gurgling coming from my chest

ayamonte - Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:44 pm

Hello, i'm hoping you may have a answer for me, I am 29 and I have been smoking for 15 years between 10 and 15 a day. I have started to get a very loud whistling and gurgling noise from my chest I have had this for about 3 months now, and I can get it without notice one second I breath normaly then the next breath is makeing a noise sometimes this can last for a few minutes but never more than 5 really, it tends to be more frequant when im laying down or at night when im going to bed, I have noticed my usual smokers cough has become deeper and a lot more raspy I also get a huge amount of mucus which i have had for years and am constantly coughing and clearing my throat when i do this it feels like a lump actually moves from the chest but sometimes I don't get any mucus to spit out it's almost like im just clearing a blockage, my lungs burn occasionaly and I also but not frequantly get a cough where it feels like im going to be sick but actually end up with a mouthfull of clear liquid that feels like it's come from my chest rather than my belly, the strange thing is I haven't felt anymore out of breath than usual I own a transport company so I am used to physical work even though at the moment I have kidney stones a chronic back and groin pain and haven't worked for a month I don't really get short of breath apart from when i have a ciggaret occasionaly, also may be unrelated but my ears have started to ring a lot and again without warning it just comes on sometimes in one ear or both i put this down to titnus but maybe relate