News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Dermatology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Dermatology Answers List

Forum Name: Dermatology Topics

Question: Rash occuring all over body itchy blotchy don't know what

rae89 - Fri Nov 06, 2009 12:18 am

Hi,
Im currently un-insured so i have no way to go to a doctor with my finacial state right now. I have been expiriencing this rash for almost 13 years on and off now. My mother chalked it up to a heat rash but i do not know if thats what this is. I have done many online searches but i cant find any cases that sound like mine.

it breaks out every few years and then goes away after about 2-5 mo.
It occurs all over the body and it takes the form of slightly raised large blotches of red-pink skin that becomes unbearably itchly. It will surface for almost half the day(approx 3-9 hrs) and then will fade. If i scratch at it or irritate it the surfacing time may last longer. It appears to react to heat however, so if i sleep with a heavy blanket, am in a hot room for extended periods of time, multiple layers of clothes etc, a breakout can occur. The rash is not in the form of small bumps but large patches and when it occures in the fingers, my whole finger will swell, if in the eyelids or lips they will also swell dramatically based on if i press or push on it the outbreak will swell more so.
I have tried creams but they do not work they do not relieve the itch at all.