News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Dermatology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Dermatology Answers List

Forum Name: Dermatology Topics

Question: MPB/Alopecia query - please help

mart78 - Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:25 pm

Hi,

I've been told on a hair loss forum to go to a dermatologist as my pattern of hair loss doesn't look normal and treatments such as minoxidil (which I've been using for about 4 years) and finasteride may not have any benefit.

I'm looking at trying Finasteride (1mg per day) but worry with my hairloss it might be a waste of money and time?

Please see picture below:

I really hope you can help as I really hope I can do something about it before I lose it all...

Many thanks in advance
 Dr.M.jagesh kamath - Sat Jan 09, 2010 5:33 am

User avatar Hello,The hair loss that you have seems very different from the normal androgenic alopecia in which there is frontal regression and central hairloss with the back hair ie occipital hair that gets preserved despite loss elsewhere. Here you are looking at a diffuse hair loss without any pattern and would fall under DUPA hair loss.DiffuseUnPatternedAlopecia are rare.This can occur at any age from 20 years.Treatment may be effective only in a few and the best treatment may be to fully shave.To wear a wig would be an option.Minoxidil and finastride may slow down progression in this condition.Do consult a dermatologist or a trichologist for more details and to confirm diagnosis.Being only now recoginized in recent years lot of work needs to elucidate the cause and effective treatment of DUPA.Best wishes.
 Chongooza - Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:22 pm