News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Endocrinology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Endocrinology Answers List

Forum Name: Endocrinology Topics

Question: hypothyroidism symptoms

sameer786 - Sat Apr 28, 2007 6:10 pm

I am a 27 year old male with no PMH and no surgeries. My mom has hypothyroidism and she takes synthroid. A couple of my aunts have hypothyroidism too. The only current medication I take is propecia 1mg qd. I am a 4th year medical student. My question is simple. I don't have medical insurance. I exhibit a lot of the symptoms of hypothyroidism. I have extreme cold intolerance so much so that even when everyone else around me feels hot, I still feel cold. I always wear layered clothing. I am constantly sleepy and tired even though I get around 8 hrs of sleep per day or more. I have extremely dry skin (even after using moisturizing soap and lotion) and dry hair and dry scalp. My hair also falls out very easily but I think this is due more to androgenic alopecia. Still, hair on the back and sides of my head falls out too. The only thing I currently don't have is weight gain. I am 6 feet 1 inch and I weigh 165 lbs. Also I am never constipated.

My question is, is there any harm in starting off on a small dose of synthroid and see if my symptoms improve or I start feeling better. I remember getting a TSH over a year ago, and it was in the normal range but more close to the high side. I don't remember the exact value and I don't have insurance to get another test. I have access to synthroid. What dose can I start on, what are the potential side effects and how long should I stick to it to see if symptoms improve. Waiting for a response. Thanks.
 Dr. Chan Lowe - Sun Apr 29, 2007 6:38 pm