News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Endocrinology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Endocrinology Answers List

Forum Name: Endocrinology Topics

Question: Panhypopituitary - Testosterone for Women

cmbajb - Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:44 pm

I am a 45 year old panypopituitary woman, by way of Cushing's disease. I also have fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome, osteoarthritis, Raynauds. I have been using Androgel for the past 6 years, successfully (better muscle tone, libido, bone density). Insurance has recently decided that they will not cover Androgel, or any testosterone for women. What is your opinion, and is there a good location for supportive medical material for my appeal? Thanks
 radgal - Sat Aug 25, 2007 8:50 pm

Hi,
I am not one of the Medical Professionals on this site, but I have some questions for you regarding your clinical history.

You state that you have Raynaud's as well as osteoartritis, chronic fatigue and fibro. Raynaud's is an autoimmune disease. I am not certain if your Cushings is autoimmune- sometimes it can be.

My question: Has your physician considered that you have some sort of Rhuematic disease rather than FMS and CFS.

The reason I am asking is that fatigue is a major component of auto immune arthritis. When Cytokines are elevated, fatigue can be overwhelming and intense. There are many types of autoimmune arthritis: Rheumatoid Arthritis, Ankylosing Spondylitis, Myositis, Reactive Arthritis, Behcet's Disease..and that is only to name a few.

FMS does have the pain and fatigue component, but it will not have elevated inflammatory markers. Sedrate and C-Reactive Protien come to mind. The second is much more sensitive.