News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Endocrinology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Endocrinology Answers List

Forum Name: Endocrinology Topics

Question: Training for distance running...Thyroid trouble

running - Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:17 pm

Hello.

Thank you for your help. I am a 41yo woman with an excellent health history. I started running athletically last year, I am training for a marathon. I work in health care. Recently I ran a long course and afterward experienced symptoms similar to those I had when diagnosed with a goiter and hyperthyroid problems at the beginning of my last pregnancy: increased heart rate, fatigue, headache, light sensitivity, anxiety. I ran my own labs: TSH = 0.384, Free T4 = 1.17, Free T3 = 3.0, and Antithyroglobulin antibody = 131. My non-fasting triglycerides are at 44.

My symptoms were bad for about ten days, then improved and I have been feeling mostly better the past week, but not great. I went for another long run today and felt O.K. but did not have nearly my normal level of energy. I wear a heart rate monitor to track my running statistics and was surprised to find when I got home that my heart rate for the last third of my run jumped suddenly to consistently over 200 (max 240) compared to my normal 140 or so. Again, I feel O.K. but not great and my heart rate is still a little high several hours later (85 vs. my normal 60-65).

I realize my labs are somewhat subclinical. I want to keep training. I am a breastfeeding mom.