News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Endocrinology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Endocrinology Answers List

Forum Name: Endocrinology Topics

Question: Hyperthyroid and tachycardia

sheshy - Sun May 24, 2009 10:37 pm

Hi,

I am a 28yr old female, diagnosed recently in October of 2008, with a hyperthyroid. I have no family history and have been always very healthy. In 2007, I made a big move and also decided to go back to school for Pre-Med. I currently work as a Medical Assistant, am married and have two children(ages 11 and 3). I figured all the stress that involves a move, going back to school and family life were the cause of my symptoms. I realized I was losing weight easily, my heart rate was reaching 147 and I started feeling very dizzy constantly. Had an EKG done which showed SVT's.
In October my hyperthyroid was confirmed and was immediately placed on PTU and Propanolol. Very quickly the symptoms faded and started feeling better. I was not the best patient and many times would forget to take the meds. I would remember to take them when my symptoms would return. Around February of 2009, I repeated my TSH, T4, T3 and free T4, all showed normal but still having the tachycardia. My Doc took me off the PTU and kept me on the Propanolol 40mg daily. My heart rate has never returned to it's normal rate between 70 and 80. Now it's constantly in the 90's after medication and around 114 before the Propanolol. My question is, could my heart pace have changed and stayed quicker after the hyperthyroid or can my thyroid still be causing the tachycardia even though it shows normal levels?

Sheshy
 John Kenyon, CNA - Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:04 pm

User avatar Hello --