News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gastroenterology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gastroenterology Answers List

Forum Name: Gastroenterology Topics

Question: quite servere flatulence

paulj123 - Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:53 am

i am 19 years old and very active. i go to the gym 4 times a week as i am a professional cricketer.
for a few years now i have had quite bad wind so to say.
it doesn't really effect my day to day activities but im starting to worry that something may be wrong with me??
i heard that the average person breaks wind 8-20 times a day but i do so at least twice as many times as this.

please help me
 Debbie Miller, RN - Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:20 am

User avatar Hi Paul,
This is certainly a frustrating and embarrassing problem. The formation of gas in the bowel is from normal bacteria that live in the bowel and thrive on the indigestible parts of our diet, typically certain carbohydrates and sugars. Diet changes can help reduce the amount of gas produced but people vary greatly in this - foods that do not affect one person will cause great distress to another.

In determining your particular offenders, do a strict elimination diet for 3 or 4 days in which you remove ALL of the typical gas producers. Then gradually add in one food at a time so you can see which foods are the problem.

Beans, milk, and milk products may be the worst offenders in causing gas. Other troublesome foods include onions, celery, carrots, raisins, apricots, prune juice, wheat products, and Brussels sprouts. But, these are not the only offenders. You can find more extensive lists of typical gas-producing foods.