News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gastroenterology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gastroenterology Answers List

Forum Name: Liver Diseases

Question: acetaminophen poisoning

preclick00 - Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:45 am

Hello,
I recently did something incredibly stupid and am very worried. On Sunday afternoon I got sort of drunk (4 alcoholic drinks) then drank a bottle of NyQuil (6oz). I have never done this before and don’t know where the impulse even came from. It later occurred to me that Nyquil contains Acetaminophen. I always make a point to avoid it Tylenol etc. because I am a heavy drinker and I know that it does not mix well with Alcohol. I did the math and it I ingested 5,900 mgs of Acetaminophen in about 10 minutes. I did throw up at some point, although I’m not exactly sure as to the timing. And when I woke up I kept drinking. It is hard for me to even write this down as it is so reckless. My questions are as follows.
1. Do I need to go to the hospital? Could I potentially die of liver failure if I don’t go immediately?
2. I have heard that it takes closer to 10,000 mgs to kill you, but could the alcohol somehow lower this number?
3. Did throwing up reduce the amount I took in, or does Acetaminophen get ingested quickly?
4. Should I not drink for awhile (besides the obvious I should not drink, I know that, but could I potentially be doing something really bad? )
5. Have I permanently damaged my liver by drinking and taking so much Acetaminophen?
Thanks for any reply.

DCN
 Dr. Safaa Mahmoud - Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:19 pm

User avatar Hello,