News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gastroenterology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gastroenterology Answers List

Forum Name: Gastroenterology Topics

Question: What's the difference between a swollen liver&Hep/cirrhosis?

finnerfag - Wed Sep 17, 2008 6:13 pm

In 2003, I voluntarily checked into a reputable treatment center for my severe alcoholism. I had pretty much been drinking vodka to the point of intoxication almost every single day from when I started my education at Purdue (1995) until I graduated (1999.) It continued and worsened even when I met my future wife in 2001. 2003 was what I consider to be my peak of lowness. Between 1997 to 2003, I've probably been sober 25 days at most. I curbed drinking for very sporadic durations of times (between 1 week to 2 months) up until now. I'm 31. I have a 2 year old daughter, a job, and am still drinking everyday. I feel myself getting to the point where I was years ago; I believe I'd violently shake if I even attempted to stop. I'm a dedicated husband and daddy. I have wonderful family support, but no one, including my wife, knows how much I'm drinking now. I started getting drunk off & on at 16, and haven't looked back since.