News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gastroenterology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gastroenterology Answers List

Forum Name: Gastroenterology Topics

Question: Stabbing Anal Pain, help...

tcirn - Sat Jan 10, 2009 11:39 am

Hello,

I'm a registered nurse and I am writing concerning my husband. He has had 3 to 5 of that I call episodes. Let me explain more in detail... The first time it happened was the worst. He awoke at 03:00 (am) got up with pain (described as a stabbing pain diectly at is anus. He in turn tryed to have a bowel movement, woke me up stating "something does not feel right." I went to the bathroom with him, he sat down on the toilet and was talking to me about this pain he was having the next thing he was slumped down, and head leaning back, with a dazed looked, eyes open fixed like he was looking right through me, would not respond to voice. This lasted about 35 seconds, he was cool, clammy, pale (lips had no color) and asking me what just happened. I would say this looked like a vagel response, possible straining on the toilet. I assisted him to bed, where is BP was 122/62 (sitting up), Heart rate 78, and Blood sugar was 116. He stated the pain was gone. He then stated he felt very sleeply and just had to close his eyes, just like a siezure patient would react after a seizure. (very lethargic, cool/clammy to touch, and he was not white as a ghost any longer. Since the first episode it was probable 4-5 weeks later, another one arose, I instructed him to walk and see it would help his bowels to move, and relieve the pain, after 45 min to an hour, his bowels moved a little and he was better. The next time it happened he state that physical activity seem to help last time, and he walked the floor again, and it got bett