News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gastroenterology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gastroenterology Answers List

Forum Name: Gastroenterology Topics

Question: Irritable Bowel Syndrome post Ecoli poisoning

tinyrage20 - Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:39 pm

This is my first time posting so bear with me please. I am 27 years old and since about the age of ten I have had sharp bowel pains every few days and have always been very gassy, I didnt know what it was until I did some research recently and saw that they were symptoms of IBS, which my doctor recently comfirmed. About a month ago I contracted some bad Ecoli poinsoning which was like one long sever case of IBS, I finally recovered completely after about a week and feel great. My question is that since my bou with Ecoli I have not had a pain attack and my gas seems to be gone can anyone give me an idea if this is permanent, which I would be very happy with, or is it something temporary?
 Dr.M.Aroon kamath - Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:53 am

User avatar Hi,
Thank you for this very thought -provoking post.

Your symptoms seem to have started at 10 years of age. Irritable bowel syndrome(IBS) is not diagnosed in preschool-aged and younger children because the diagnosis depends on a child's ability to communicate detailed symptoms.However it is known to occur in older children and teenagers.

The onset of IBS in children may occur following stressful event such as bullying in school, problems at school/home, or a bout of illness such as gastroenteritis, or without any identifiable reason at all. Although stress itself is not considered anymore as the principal cause of IBS, it can perhaps trigger the onset of IBS symptoms.