News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gastroenterology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gastroenterology Answers List

Forum Name: Gastroenterology Topics

Question: hiatal hernia, possible cause of chest pain?

jbq - Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:27 am

I'm a 29 yr old male and I run 15 to 20 miles per week. I weigh 155 lbs and am 5'-11". I have been running races for 3 years, approximately 12 per year. Race distances range from 5k to half marathon. Within the past 6 months, I have been noticing a strange chest pain that has me concerned. At varying distances during many of my runs, I will get a short, but sharp chest pain right in the middle of my chest, approximately 1 to 2 inches higher than my nipple but dead center. It doesn't tire me and doesn't make me feel the need to stop, but it startles me and definitely is not something that has always happened. It feels like a pulse, drop, or spasm os some sort, but dissipates quickly. It has happened at various training paces and often occurs at different distances through the run. I've had it happen anywhere from 1 mile in to 8 miles in. It does not happen every time, but does happen most times regardless of my pace. It generally only happens one or two times within minutes of each other and then no more regardless of how much farther I run after. The symptons vary from subtle to intense. My race pace is 5:55 min/mi for 5k to 6:58 min/mile for half marathon, so I assume I am relatively well conditioned.