News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gastroenterology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gastroenterology Answers List

Forum Name: Gastroenterology Topics

Question: Long term PPI use & bacterial overgrowth?

Westgrl - Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:46 am

I'm a 35 year old woman. I have been using Protonix 20mg since 2003 after being diagnosed with a moderate to severe hiatal hernia. A few years ago I developed a yeast infection that would not go away or would go away but quickly return. Last year I developed a sinus infection that was also resistant to treatment but finally got better with steroid treatment but I continue to have some discomfort. In April I developed abdominal pain. Ultrasound, CT scan & blood work all came back ok. My symptoms are IBS in nature (pain, constipation, diarrhea, bloating, etc) but the pain tends to stay in the upper portion of my intestine. Over the years I have also developed dry eye, dry skin, dry brittle hair, fatigue & occassional sore joints. I had originally thought I had an autoimmune disease like Sjogren's but my primary doctor ruled this out with blood work. I have read recent studies are showing that people on PPI medications, like Protonix, long term can develop an overgrowth of bacteria from low acid amounts. I'd like to know if my symptoms sound like this is a possibility. If so, I will insist upon having testing done with my doctor. If this is the case, is there a treatment?

Thank you for yout time!
 Dr.M.Aroon kamath - Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:36 am

User avatar Hi,
PPI drugs have now been available clinical use since 2008, when omeprazole was launched and have been used even longer(>35 years) in clinical research studies.