News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gastroenterology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gastroenterology Answers List

Forum Name: Gastroenterology Topics

Question: Constant hunger and weakness

NeedSolution - Thu Jun 24, 2010 12:00 am

I'm a 24 year old male. I've been working out for about 5 years, 5 days a week and am in very good shape.
I've been taking citalopram since the age of 16/17yrs for anxiety reasons. I've never found the need to come off of them because I'm so used to taking them.

For almost a year now I've had the symptoms of constant hunger, fatigue, low sex drive, occasional numbness in upper arms/ankles. When I eat I never feel full(satisfied). Of course I can only eat to a certain point before my stomach can't handle anymore. I'm not gaining weight at all. I'm 6"5 and 212pounds. When the symptoms started I dropped to about 200 even though I was eating a lot and training hard. I have slowly gained most of the weight back, to my relief.
Pretty much in general I just feel "numb/fried". This is pretty much the complete opposite of what I was before. I would normally be full easily in a good way and have a high sex drive.
Two months before these symptoms began I started a new relationship with a girl that has a young son. I'm not sure if the relationship was causing me a lot of stress and made my body feel this way. I've broken up with her a few weeks ago. A big reason for this was the way I had constantly been feeling. Part of me hoped that with the stress of the relationship being gone I would feel better, but nothing changed!