News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gastroenterology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gastroenterology Answers List

Forum Name: Gastroenterology Topics

Question: pain in the abdomen for 4 months, no diagnosis

maggie25 - Fri Aug 05, 2005 6:29 am

Hello doctors and everybody:)

Please help!!! :(

I am an overseas student from Europe, currently studying in Australia and having some medical problems, which put me in the financial hole because of all the examinations I had done without any diagnosis and I am broken now and still feeling sick:(((((

I am 25, female, slim and healthy before, no operations etc.

It started about 4 months ago. When I was falling asleep I thought I am having some palpitations (just heart beating very fast) and dizziness. It repeatedly happened a few nights, and then I developed some pain just below the breastbone, especially while pressing on this area and very funny noises in the abdomen, which did not have ever before! Went to doctor1 who referred me for cardiology examinations:
I had done:
-chest x-ray: result: normal
-blood tests (not sure which ones) including thyroid function, result: normal,
-cardiac examination: echocardiogram, ECG, Holter test for 24h, result: normal,
-doctor prescribed Somac

I was taking Somac for 1 month, no improvement/no change, had a feeling it was getting worse:
- pain below breastbone- between ribs,
- Sometimes burning in the back, even I touch the skin and is hot in this area,
- while pain more severe: rapid heartbeat (pulse about 100)

Went to doctor2
-done Pap test (my request), result: normal
-abdominal usg: normal
-urea breath test: result: normal
-added some fibre in the diet,