News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Infections Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Infections Answers List

Forum Name: Fungal infections

Question: Rash around Genitals spreading to other parts of body

dcrob2 - Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:43 am

Hello, I'm in Cambodia at the moment I've been traveling and working in Asia for 7 months but in the past four days I've start to develop a rash in various places in my body.

Insect/mosquito bites are fairly standard but about four nights ago I ended up going to bed one night (quite drunk admittedly) with exceptionally itchy testicles. The next morning both my balls and penis were bright red and since then small spots have begun to develop along the shaft of my penis starting on the underside and working their way around. As well as this I started to get spots along my inner thighs.

I don't believe this to be an STD because I've not had sex since I've been out here in asia (7 months) so I would presume an std is low probability.

Some additional info, spots have started to develop in other areas but only 4-5 in each general area and with no great concentration in one place they just seem to appear randomly, other than my penis and thighs where the greatest concentration is I've got 4-5 on each of my hands a small number on my upper chest below my neck and a scattering around my torso also quite a few more on my back. The ones on my front and hands have only really come in the last few days.

At present I'm staying in a fan room, no air con, as you can imagine it's quite hot here and due to work I spend more than a few hours per day lying down in bed working on my laptop, I suspect I may have developed something fungal from being in such conditions but that's pure guesswork on my part.