News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Neurology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Neurology Answers List

Forum Name: Neurology Topics

Question: Advice for stroke patient

Putali - Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:09 pm

Hi I am a pre-nursing student starting my Bachelor of Nursing in Feb 08 here in New Zealand.
The reason I am messaging you is for some advice, and if you cant help me then I hope you will know someone that can.
My father-in-law (70 years old) had a stroke just 4 days ago. He has right side paralysis, is trying to talk but isnt very responsive. He is in Mumbai India and I can not be with him but my partner is with him. I need to know what questions to ask the doctor and what my partner can be doing to help, eg talking to him, touching him etc. We are afraid he isnt getting the correct care but don't know what to look for or what to ask. He had an MRI just today and the doctor said swelling is there .. bleeding has stopped ... and there is blockage in the arteries... they may need to operate but will observe him for a week. They are suggesting they may do an tracheostomy if he is there longer than 10 days, he is still on ventilator but I am not sure how sedated he is. How long should he be on ventilator, should the swelling reduce at what rate? I know these are in a way, unanswerable but any advice? He can raise his arm when asked but keeps his eyes closed and remains pretty much non responsive most of th time. Please help in any advice or anything. My partner is freaking out and although I have done a lot of reading online I still would like some one on one advice.
Thanks.
Putali
 Dr. Chan Lowe - Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:26 pm

User avatar Hi Putali,