News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Neurology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Neurology Answers List

Forum Name: Neurology Topics

Question: Aura, migraines, and problems talking??

ejm26090 - Tue Nov 04, 2008 5:53 pm

Hello,
I am a 25 year old female. I have had a history of migraines for the last 10 years. I usually experience aura, followed by a headache, usually on the left side of my head and behind my eye. I have been seen by a neurologist and have been taking Imitrex (100 mg prn) for the last 3 years. Also, an MRI was conducted and the results were normal. The frequency and severity of my migraines increases dramatically about 1 week before I start my period.
Here is where the stange part comes in. I am a teacher. Last week, during class, I started experiencing aura. I took an Imitrex to hopefully stop the pain before it started. About 20 minutes later, the aura stopped. Instead of getting a headached like I normally do, I had problems talking. I was fully aware and knew exactly what I was trying to say but the words that came out of my mouth made absolutely no sense! Also, my tongue and teeth had a numbing sensation. Just to be clear, my speech was NOT slurred. That problem lasted about 20 minutes and then I seemed to be fine. I talked to both a pharmacist and a friend about this, they both assurred me it was a symptom of a severe migraine.