News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Neurology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Neurology Answers List

Forum Name: Neurology Topics

Question: Unilateral limb atrophy in a young male

Dr Haisook - Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:16 am

Hello. I'm a 22-year- old medical student. I've been suffering from left ankle pain for 2 years. I have a talipes valgus deformity in my left foot. I only started to wear arch supports recently. Over the past 2 years I've had a lot of tests in an attempt to know what could be causing the pain, including x-rays and ankle MRIs. All were normal.

A couple of weeks ago I looked at my legs, and noticed that my left leg is obviously smaller in size than the right. I measured the circumference of both at different points, and the left was narrower by around 2 cm. Just above the knee, there's also atrophy in the left thigh, but it's less profound. Around 0.5 cm difference. By looking at photographs from 4 years ago, I could see that I had equally sized legs, so I acquired this atrophy recently.

Just before this discovery, I'd been suffering from weakness/cramping-feeling in my left limb. It would feel weak and cramped after only a few minutes of walking. This coincided with a new home trademill we got. May be I overdid it, and my left limb was weak in the first place.

I went to a neurologist, and he examined the tone, power, and reflexes. All were normal. The left limb showed no weakness or lost reflexes. He ordered a lumbar spine MRI, which came out unremarkable as well.

I had a tibial nerve conduction study a year ago, and it was normal.