News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Neurology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Neurology Answers List

Forum Name: Neurology Topics

Question: Myelopathy but no cord compression..differential diagnoses?

shadyrn - Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:49 pm

Had issues 4.5 yrs ago....saw NS, had myelogram, no need for surgery.....jump ahead to present, neck spasms started and I put this together with shakiness going down stairs, incontinence issues, and hyperreflexia(my reflexes are so brisk it's like clonus) and wanted to see NS again...of course had to go through proper channels and see PCP first...he ordered steroids and a STAT Mri....I am a nurse so I'm at either an advantage or disadvantage in thinking too much about this! MRI findings:

There is mild stranding of the cervical lordosis which could be secondary to the patient positioning or muscle spasm.

The cervical spinal cord is normal in signal and caliber.

The is no focal disc herniation, central stenosis or neural foraminal narrowing in C2-3, C3-4, or C4-5.

At C5-6 there is mild disc space narrrowing. There is diffuse disc osteophyte complex which abuts the spinal cord without evidence for cord compression. There is mild central narrowing at this level. There is mild-to-moderate left and mild right neural foraminal narrowing at this level. The disc osteophyte complex appears to have slightly increased in size since 2005.

The C6-7 and C7-T1 levels are within normal limits.

IMPRESSION:
Degenerative disc disease at C5-6. The disc osteophyte complex at C5-6 may have slightly increased in size and abuts the spinal cord. However, there is no evidence for cord compression at this level. There is bilateral neural foraminal narrowing at C5-6 as described.