News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Oncology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Oncology Answers List

Forum Name: Miscellaneous Cancer Topics

Question: Question About Cigars Regarding Mouth and Throat Cancer

lordpuffer - Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:43 am

I am a 50 year old male who has no history of any type of cancer on either side of my family. I have been smoking at least 3 cigars per day for the past 10 years. I get a checkup of my mouth by an oral surgeon once every year or so to look for signs of mouth cancer (last checkup about 6 months ago was clear). I guess that my general question is, what are the chances of developing mouth or throat cancer from smoking so many cigars? I work out regularly, eat a good diet with a lot of broccoli and other greens, take a lot of Omega 3, garlic, lecithin and broccoli supplements. I love smoking cigars, so stopping or cutting down is not an option. Thank you for your help.
 Debbie Miller, RN - Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:09 pm

User avatar At three per day, your risk of developing oral cancers are up to eight times that of a non-smoker. Other cancers are also increased such as esophageal, pancreatic, and heart/lung if you inhale particularly.

Any amount of healthy living otherwise at least helps because you can decrease your risk of colon cancer with eating broccoli, and improved cardiovascular health can protect you from other diseases even aside from cancer but it isn't like you can keep score and the good you do will cancel out the bad. It helps but can't undo the damage of the smoking.

Quitting is your best defense. You say that is not an option so you are choosing your current comfort level over any future risk this brings. These are decisions we all must make every day.

Best of luck to you.