News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Oncology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Oncology Answers List

Forum Name: Colon and Rectal Cancers

Question: Colonoscopy without sedation

goex2f - Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:52 pm

I'm a 54 year old male in good health other than ercent onset of constipation alternating with diarrhea and dark stools which are positive for blood per a home heme test. I also have a first-degree relative who died from colon cancer at a young age and I was thinking of getting a colonoscopy. I have had one horrible experience with "conscious sedation" ; a severe paradoxical reaction to Versed and a repeat try with Propofol was no better. I would never do conscious sedaion again. I'm a hospital pharmacist, so I have some familiarity with the procedure (I have watched several) as well as knowing the drugs used. I'm willing to tolerate the discomfort of doing the exam drug-free (as is done in many countries), but when I try to schedule the exam I'm told that sedation is required. My insurance covers this exam 100%, but I would be willing to pay cash if necessary to have it done without drugs. I was recently the designated driver for a nurse friend who had this exam done with Versed and fentanyl and listening to her scream did nothing to reassure me that conscious sedation is desireable; but my symptoms are getting to the point where I really need to do the exam. Any suggestions will be apperciated. Thanks
 goex2f - Tue May 05, 2009 9:31 pm