News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Orthopedics Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Orthopedics Answers List

Forum Name: Bone trauma and fractures

Question: Broken foot - Emergency Room Question

qwertygirl - Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:40 am

First let me thank you for this forum's existence and thank you to all the generous professionals who help others here. I am a developer and Sysadmin to forums for many and they are so beneficial, informative, and a godsend for many people.

I have a simple question regarding my Emergency Room visit for a broken foot earlier this month.

I am a 40 yo single mom with one still at home (14 yo son). At 4:30 pm on my porch, my heel slipped out of my sandal and I heard the foot break. At that same moment I fell over (I think more out of shock than anything) onto my left knee on the concrete. Knowing the foot was definitely broke (5th Metatarsal between a Jones and Avulsion fracture) we went to the Emergency Room.

Prior to X-rays I was asked several times how I did it by the nurses, doctors and techs. After the results of the X-ray I was asked again by those who assisted me.

My question I suppose is more out of curiousity - is there a specific reason that they ask so many times? Were they asking to ensure I wasn't harmed by another person or if it was self-inflicted? I think the PA was a little surprised I had told her right where the break was. Could they have wanted to be sure how it happened based on the break itself?

I know it seems silly to ask this question, but I had never been asked so many times and thought it was odd. Is it SOP? I know they couldn't suspect my 14yo of harming me, he's just a little mouse. :)

Thank you in advance!!!!!
 Dr. Chan Lowe - Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:27 pm