News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Orthopedics Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Orthopedics Answers List

Forum Name: Degenerative Bone Diseases

Question: Can I have DJD at my age?

firemom31 - Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:07 pm

I have always been very active and healthy. I am a volunteer EMT, which is physically strenuous. Three years ago I jumped out of a squad onto a concrete surface. I was carrying around 100lbs of equipment and landed very hard. I suffered severe, debilitating lumbar pain and was told by the doctor that I had subluxated vertebrae at L5-S1. This has severly limited my physical activity. When I lie on my side I can hear and feel my spine popping from my neck down to the mid-thoracic area. It is usually painless but occaisionally I experience sharp pain. I also have hip and thigh pain on the right side and my hip frequently catches and pops on that side, which is also quite painful. The pain often wakes me up during the night. I have been given Vicodin but it doesn't help at all. I fear that my back injury has altered my gait and in turn caused degeneration in my hip. Do I have a hip replacement in my future? I can't take NSAIDS due to a hx of gastric ulcers.
 Dr. A. Saif - Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:51 pm

User avatar Hi Firemom,

I guess Degenerative Joint Disease can occur at you age...ceratinly you sound as if you have given your joints enough workout. Osteo-arthritis can be secondary to both specific injuries to the joints, as well as repeated low grade stresses over the years.

Your back and neck