News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Orthopedics Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Orthopedics Answers List

Forum Name: Bone trauma and fractures

Question: "middle" phalange hair line fracture

buju357 - Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:06 am

Hi
3 days ago after being servery antagonized I punched a wooden cupboard. x rays showed a "middle" phalange hair line fracture on all 3 middle fingers. the 3 knuckles are slightly painful , there was some swelling in the fingers and metacarpal but has mostly gone now , the 3 affected fingers are able to move freely with no "deformities" , I have full feeling through the length of the fingers and no tingling.
The 3 finders have been in a splint for 3 days now. I work in the computer field and these splints are really starting to anoy me ...lol

question:
how long must the splint stay on ?
 Tom Plamondon PA-C - Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:14 pm

User avatar Hello,
The spint is used to protect the bones and joints from further damage and to allow time for healing.

It will take 3-6 weeks for the bone to heal. Maintaining full and normal hand range of motion will be important so gentle range of motion exercises may begin at week 2-3. However check with your physician before starting any exercise with the hand.

Whether you can type without the splint will depend on the extent of the fracture and the amount of pain and swelling both during and after the activity. Your hand will tell you if the activity is too much too soon. Again, check with your physician before doing activity without the splint.

Thanks for writing in and hope your hand gets to feeling better.

ps How's the wooden cupboard?
 buju357 - Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:34 am

hi