News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Orthopedics Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Orthopedics Answers List

Forum Name: Spinal problems and back pain

Question: Will a herniated disc with migration heal itself?

oklasteve1962 - Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:09 am

I am a 46 yr old male.I have diabetes,hypertension and I smoke.On March 18th 2009 I suffered a back inury.I am a paramedic and was on shift.I was taking a 360lb pt out of the back of my ambulance.The cot had a malfunction and I ended up dropping the cot with the pt on it.I was the only one who had a hold of the cot and when it fell it went all the way to the ground with me holding on to it.Since this happened I have been in terrible pain.I have had an MRI and it states L4-L5 is herniated and L5-S1 is herniated and that both have moderate migration.I have been experiencing sever pain not only in my back but also down the right sciatic nerve associated with some right leg pain and numbness on my right little toe and toe next to the little toe.On occasion my right leg will give completely out and if I do have hold of something will fall to the ground.I have seen an orthopedic surgeon and he seems to think it will all go away on its own and that I will be able to return to work in a couple of weeks.Since the accident happened it seems to me like it is getting worse and not better.The pain is getting worse.My leg and sciatic nerve pain are getting worse.It hurst to walk,sit,stand,couch,sneeze,drive and I only sleep about 3 or 4 hours a night because I cannot get comfortable and the pain awakens me.Also in the accident I injured my back around T-7 and my cervicle spine around C-4 but the doctor doesn't seem to think they are worth looking at so I have no idea what,if anything,might be wrong wi