News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Orthopedics Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Orthopedics Answers List

Forum Name: Joint surgery

Question: What do I expect on initial visit for peroneal subluxation?

whpstickagostop - Thu Oct 22, 2009 6:53 pm

I have been having pain in my left foot for three months. Eventually I noticed the popping and can see the peroneal tendon going back and forth across my ankle. I went to the student health clinic (I am a grad student, it's my only option half the time) and they didn't even look at it, just gave me a referral to a podiatrist.

My podiatrist appt is Nov 2nd and I'm stressing about it. I don't go to the doctor often because I don't get sick often. I am a biology graduate student so usually I can realize it's a problem that my immune system will take care of and nothing to worry about. I don't know what to expect the first visit so I'm asking advice. Will they put me in a brace? Will they do an MRI? Will I have to stay off of it? Will I be able to drive my stick shift car home from the doctor (It's my clutch foot!).

Anything I can do to ease the pain and discomfort until my podiatrist appt? I'm frustrated that the health clinic didn't even suggest an OTC brace to buy and all I have been doing is upping the concentration of Icy Hot (I try to avoid taking pills due to a sensitive stomach).

Many thanks!
 Tom Plamondon PA-C - Sun Oct 25, 2009 8:11 pm

User avatar Hello,
There are two structural abnormalities that can contribute to dislocating of the peroneal tendon - shallow sulcus behind the lateral malleoli (lateral ankle bone) and a damaged peroneal sheath which stabilizes the tendon.
Surgery can correct both of these.