Urology

Other Sections

Membership

Research Tools

Medical Tutorials

Medical Software

Headlines:

The Doctors Lounge - Primary Care Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Primary Care Answers List

Forum Name: Ear Nose and Throat

Question: Ringing ears & twitch

Alan - Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:45 am

Hi,

I'm a med student and I'm probably being a hypochondriac but kinda worried.
I have a ringing in my ears which was initally brought on by loud music at a concert, I have had it for about a month, it's very high pitched and not very loud.
I was just going to ignore it because it seemed to be obviously caused by loud music.
But just tonight when I lay down in bed I believe that the ringing got louder and after lying on my back for a while felt a twitch in one of my neck muscles which continues until I sat up. Also felt a slight tingle in my face.

I'm feeling a bit paranoid that it's being caused by an enlarged blood vessle or something else putting pressure on a nerve and isn't just from the music. I'm not sure weather or not my own knowledge is causing me to notice things that are not there.

The ringing is in both ears if that helps.

Thanks for any ideas,

Alan
JynMeyer - Sat Jan 15, 2005 8:12 am

Well, I found this if your interested:

MedicineNet. com Link to this Article
Ringing in Ears
Symptoms & Signs Index

Together with other abnormal ear noises, ear ringing is medically called tinnitus. Buzzing, roaring, and pulsitile sounds are sometimes perceived when no sound is present in persons with tinnitus.

Tinnitus can arise in any of the four sections of the ear: the outer ear, the middle ear, the inner ear, and the brain. Tinnitus is often accompanied by hearing loss.

MedicineNet Main Article on Ringing in Ears
-Tinnitus
-Causes of Ringing in Ears
-Eustachian Tube Problems
-Meniere Disease