Urology

Other Sections

Membership

Research Tools

Medical Tutorials

Medical Software

Headlines:

The Doctors Lounge - Primary Care Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Primary Care Answers List

Forum Name: Miscellaneous Student Topics

Question: common diseases in asia , europe and america

Ling - Thu Nov 20, 2003 12:41 pm

Hi, I'm a student from the Philippines. We have this assignment to get a list of some common diseases from an asian country other than mine, an european one and from america . If there are doctors out there who can help me out, please let me know and email me. My email address is tsubiph@yahoo. com. Thank You
Dr. Russell M - Thu Nov 20, 2003 2:35 pm

Hi!

Some of the common diseases in the Indan subcontinent would be the common cold, upper respiratory tract infections like sinusitis and pharyngitis, lower respiratory tract infections like Pneumonia, urinary tract infections, gastroenteritis like enteric Fever (typhoid) and cholera, Tuberculosis, malaria, dengue Fever, Weil's disease, Hepatitis, conjunctivitis, etc.

In America, I do not find much of Tuberculosis, malaria, dengue, or weils. The flu is quite common. The west-nile Fever is particularly common in the south central Americas.

I hope this helps.

- Bill
Ling - Fri Nov 21, 2003 2:47 pm

bill,

Thank you for your reply. It really helped me. Can I ask if you know some doctors from the places I mentioned? It would really help me more because we need responses from some of them also.
sisohel - Mon Nov 24, 2003 8:14 pm

Hi Ling,
Thank you for using this site and I am glad it helped you. I am a doctor form Bangladesh and would be happy to help you in any regards. Please feel free to mail me at sisohel@dhaka. net for any of your queries.

Best luck,
Ling - Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:02 pm

Hello sisohel,