News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Antidepressants

Question: Discontinuing Effexor XR, how to?

CTDani - Tue Dec 20, 2005 9:21 am

Hello,
I'm writing to hopefully gain some insight into HOW I am to discontinue my antidepressant without completely losing control and sending myself into the psych ward. I currently take 75mg/1x day of Effexor XR. I've been consuming this medication for about 2 1/2 years. The benefits to this drug are nothing shy of miraculous. I've never felt so incredibly confident, ambitious, happy, energetic, etc in all of my life. Had it not been for this drug, I really don't know what I would have done to combat my depression. My depression was so bad that I was sleeping all day, not eating, lost interest in practically everything that made me happy, and was suicidal. Now, as far as the side effects associated with discontinuing this medication? That's an ENITRELY different story. THOSE effects are nothing short of pure HELL here on earth. I know based on experience, and based on reading the experiences of others involved.