News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Psychiatry Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Psychiatry Answers List

Forum Name: Psychiatric Topics

Question: Smoking and Anxiety: PLEASE HELP.

btebski - Mon Dec 26, 2005 3:24 am

Hi,

I would really appreciate a reply, as this problem is driving me crazy.

Over the past few years I have suffered multiple tragic events involving the loss of loved ones, and a very quick deterioration of my family.

The following problem has really hampered my ability to deal with things.

I am currently studying abroad in a country with very poor health facilities, and generally very unprofessional doctors (One Pulmonary doctor I saw chain smoked throughout my entire consultation).

I have been smoking for about 2 years, and about 4 months ago, i began to feel very short of breath, nauseous, and felt a pressure and itchiness on my chest, as well as a feeling that my lungs were decreased in capacity.

Another very noticeable symptom was that the lymph nodes (?) under the sides of my jaw, just under the ears, would swell up and become uncomfortable.

I have stopped smoking for the last 2 1/2 months, and the above symptoms have remained in varying degrees of severity. I have experimented smoking once or twice since then, and this greatly exacerbates the problem. Drinking alcohol, eating chocolate, and peanuts, also seem to make the problem worse.

I have taken several courses of antibiotics leading to no improvement.

I have had chest Xrays, Blood tests, an ECG, a lung function tests, all performed with no abnormalities found.